Carer Support
Fund login
support CLEW
clew login

Clinical Mental Health Services in Victoria

 Mental health services in Victoria can be accessed through GPs and other primary care provider, but people who are seriously affected by their illness can be referred to the specialist mental health service system.

 Generally the impact or severity of the condition, rather than a specific diagnosis, triggers access to specialist mental health services.

 Specialist mental health services in Victoria are divided into two service delivery types:

Clinical Services focus on assessment and treatment of people with a mental illness. These services are called Area Mental Health Services and are managed by hospitals.

 Non-clinical services are called Mental Health Community Support Services (MHCSS). These focus on activities and programs that help people manage their own recovery and maximise their participation in community life.

 Both clinical and non-clinical services operate within geographically defined catchment areas.


Adult specialist mental health services (16-64 years)

Aged persons mental health services (65+ years) 

Child and adolescent mental health services (0-18 years) 

Non-clinical specialist mental health services -

Statewide and specialist services

Forensic mental health services