Carer Support
Fund login
support CLEW
clew login

North East Melbourne Area

NEMA comprises the Local Government Areas of: Banyule, Darebin, Nillumbik, Whittlesea and Yarra.

NEMA commenced transition to the NDIS from 1 July 2016. Victorian Intake Assessment Service (MHCSS) will transition from 1 May 2017.

NEMA Phasing Schedule

The Local Area Co-coordinator is Brotherhood of St Lawrence

Preparing for the NDIS in NEMA is available in eleven languages: English   Macedonian   Greek   Samoan   Tagalog   Vietnamese   Hindi   Arabic   Italian   Simplified Chinese   Traditional Chinese

These resources complement the My NDIS Pathway booklet which is available on the NDIS website.

For the latest information for service providers regarding participant access and planning in the NDIS in NEMA click here.

The Brotherhood delivered a presentation on the Role of the Local Area Coordinators (LAC) at a Forum in Whittlesea in 2016.  

DHHS and NDIA presented on the NDIS an Introduction (Transition information for Community Organisations) for the NDIS in NEMA on 9 June 2016.

As part of the implementation of the NDIS in the North East Melbourne Area (NEMA), the NDIA has engaged registered service providers to offer co-ordination for NDIS participants to implement their plans. To date, over 40 organisations have indicated to the NDIA their willingness to provide support co-ordination services.


NDIS Information Session and Workshops

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) in partnership with Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and Brotherhood of St Laurence (BSL) are running monthly information sessions designed to help people find out more about the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).

Following the main information session an interactive workshop will be held focusing on a specialist topic of interest. You are invited to bring along your questions and have them answered by experienced staff.

The specialist Workshops will be run at the same time – you can choose to attend:

Workshop 1 – Access/Eligibility, or
Workshop 2 – Plan Implementation

Date: Thursday 9 February
Times: NDIS Information Session: 10.30–11.30am; Specialist Workshops: 11:45am–12.30pm
Location: Darebin North East Community Hub, 35 Copernicus Crescent, Bundoora 3083
RSVP: RSVP by email or via Eventbrite.

Please advise names of those attending, contact phone number and any support requirements.

Friends, family members and carers are welcome.