Carer Support
Fund login
support CLEW
clew login

Tandem 2017 Awards for Exceptional Service to Families and Carers in Mental Health

On Tuesday 12 September 158 mental health consumers, carers, compassionate service providers, policy makers and community members came together to acknowledge and celebrate Exceptional Service to Family and Carers in Mental Health. Individual commendations and awards were presented by Gabrielle Williams, MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Carers and Volunteers. Awards to Services were presented by Dr Lynne Coulson Barr, Victorian Mental Health Complaints Commissioner.

Thanks to a generous anonymous donation, the following prizes were provided:




Gabrielle Williams MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Health & Parliamentary Secretary for Carers and Volunteers.


Commissioner Lynne Coulson Barr, Mental Health Complaints Commissioner.


Individual Awards


Francis McCormick

Acting Senior Psychiatric Nurse/Consultant, Bendigo Health Psychiatric Service



Mari Neil

Family and Carer Services, Mind Australia


Individual Highly Commended

Helen Carter

FaPMI (Families where a Parent has a Mental Illness) Coordinator, St Vincent’s Mental Health Service

Faye Hayman

Family Carer Project Worker, Bendigo Psychiatric Services

Sharon Lavery

Carer Consultant, Mildura Base Hospital

Left to right: Faye Hayman (accepted by Cathy Spencer), Helen Carter, and Sharon Lavery,with Gabrielle Williams MP.


Individual Commended

Cate Bourke

Manager, Consumer and Carer Workforce, Coordinator, Carer Support, Adult Mental Health Service
Eastern Health

Anna Epifanio

Inner West Area Mental Health Service

Julz Ghaly

North West Community Services, MIND Australia

Janette Korolew

Carer Consultant, Wellways Geelong

Jacinta Kuklych

Carer Consultant & Family Program Manager, Headspace Youth Early Psychosis Program

Diane Leak

UnitingCare Life Assist

Yonas Mihtsuntu


Christina Morgan

Carers Links North

Kris Penny

St Kilda Road Clinic, Alfred Health

Helen Pobie

UnitingCare Life Assist

Ray Smart

Alfred Psychiatry

Robyn Suprun

Eastern Health Adult Mental Health Service


Left to right:  Jacinta Kuklych, Christina Morgan, Julz Ghaly, Cate Bourke, Janette Korolew, Anna Epifanio, Yonas Mihtsuntu, Diane Leak, Helen Pobie, with Gabrielle Williams MP. 
Not pictured: Eve Murphy, Robyn Suprun, Kris Penny, Ray Smart.


Service Awards


Multiple Family Group Therapy Team, Waratah Clinic

Commissioner Lynne Coulson Barr presents the award to Jackie Pearce, Alison Lewis, and Nicole Sydenham.



Family and Carer Mental Health Support Service, Mallee Family Care

Commissioner Lynne Coulson Barr presents the award to Debbie Murphy, Shane Johnston, and Suzette Toepfer.


Chair’s Award

Dr Hanlie Engelbrecht

Dental Surgeon, Dental Health Services Victoria, Royal Dental Hospital of Melbourne


Lifetime Achievement Awards

Lindy Alcorn

Mental Health Carer Support Worker, Alfred Health Carer Services

Penny Lewisohn

Convenor Emeritus, Inner South Family and Friends


Officiating the evening was the Chair of the Tandem Board of Management, Colin Fryer.

Tandem congratulaes all those commended and recipients of awards.